1970 WORLD CUP FINAL – BRAZIL VS. ITALY, Brazil and Italy had both brought home two World Cup championships before meeting on June 21, 1970, in Mexico City for that year’s conclusive. Italy last won in 1938 while Brazil last did such in 1962. The game remembered a few significant plays while two individuals for one side both left a mark on the world.

How They Arrived

Brazil beat Czechoslovakia, Britain, and Romania in its pool while Italy had an objective differential of just +1 in its three matches. It had two draws in addition to a limited success over Sweden. There were no objectives in Italy’s games with Uruguay and Israel.

Read More: FIFA World Cup 2022 Schedule Pdf Download

Brazil beat Peru and Uruguay in the knockout round while Italy beat Mexico and West Germany. Italy expected additional time to overcome West Germany. As a matter of fact, during that game, Italy outscored West Germany 3-2 as Gianni Rivera had an objective at 111′ to give Italy a 4-3 lead that they would clutch until the end of that match.

Ongoing interaction

Pele scored the main objective off of a hybrid pass from Rivelino at 18′. At 37′, Roberto Boninsegna scored the tying objective after tracking down a huge opening with all due respect. The game would keep on being gridlocked for a concise timeframe as the two sides were going this way and that generally. This gave Brazil a lot of chances to set up its hostile strength and to scout the guard that Italy had been utilizing all through the whole match.

Brazil’s capability turned out in full power in the last part and Italy couldn’t answer it. Gerson nailed a shot at 66′ and afterward, he got a free kick to Pele who moved it to Jairznho for an objective at 71′.

At 86′, eight players in the Brazilian side passed the ball around under Carlos Alberto and helped the ball through a corner spot on the net, in this manner giving Brazil a 4-1 lead. The ball moved flawlessly from the passed-on finish of the field to the middle to finish a full objective.

After the Match

This match denoted the last World Cup occasion for Pele as he resigned from World Cup play. He is the main player to have won it multiple times. Furthermore, mentor Mario Zagallo turned into the main individual to win the World Cup as both a player and a mentor. He was a player for Brazil in their initial two cups. Truth be told, Zagallo had quite recently turned into the mentor as Joao Saldanha left the group three months before the competition began.


As it was the principal side to win the World Cup multiple times, Brazil got to keep the Jules Rimet Prize on a long-lasting premise. This was the first prize given out to the World Cup champ. The ongoing release of the World Cup prize would be presented in 1974. A lot of this choice was done because the prize as it was had been taken various times in its set of experiences thus it was chosen as the most effective way to settle all the disorders along these lines.


Leave a Comment